top of page

Working at Vogue House - Conde Nast Publications


I had always wanted to work in magazines since the first day I purchased Vogue. I would highlight all the trends, watch all the fashion documentaries and I even was the fashion editor for my school magazine. I have been based in Central London for a couple of years, among the fashion district of Oxford Street, Bond Street and Regent Street. I always walked past the Vogue House wishing that one day I could work there.

People assumed that working in magazines would be like the Devil Wears Prada, however, it was the complete opposite, everyone was so nice and welcoming, I could ask for advice whenever I wanted. The job can be glamourous with travelling the world and meeting interesting people, however it is a lot of hard work, researching new stories, keeping up-to-date with the latest trends, news and social media posts.

I was so nervous on my first day as this was everything I had wished for. The reception was filled with the latest issues of Vogue, GQ, Love, Glamour, Tatler and more. The best part of working for Conde Nast Publications was that you got so many free magazines.

My job involved transcribing interviews and to come up with interview questions, which was really interesting to listen and learn from successful people. I researched new stories for the magazines and their website content. I also had to research new business clients who may want to have a magazine published. I used social media a lot to find new businesses, photographers and travel ideas. I also had to run some errands dropping off magazines to Conde Nast International Chairman, CEO and president.

The highlight of working at Conde Nast was defiantly visiting the archive room which held all the issues of the Conde Nast magazines from the very first issue to the current issue. I could have spent hours in that room reading all my favourite magazines.

I am very thankful for the experience, I met lots of interesting people who gave me a lot of useful advice. I am excited to start my career and will hopefully be back soon!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page