top of page

Things to Do In Gran Canaria

HOLA!!

That is pretty much the only Spanish I know.

I have recently come back from an inspiring memorable holiday, visiting my family who have lived in Gran Canaria for the past five years.

I had such an amazing time, meeting new people, exploring new places and listening to the beautiful Spanish language.

I stayed with my Uncle, Aunty and three cousins in their new house. I was mostly relaxing on the rooftop as it had a beautiful view of the beaches and mountains. The weather was scorching hot which was perfect as it meant I could get a nice tan, as we do not see much sun in England. Every night we would watch the sunset and have our dinner on the roof.

CLICK THE IMAGE TO VIEW VIDEO:

During the day my cousins and I would go to their bungalow in Playmar so we could use the pool and see their friends.

CLICK THE IMAGE TO VIEW VIDEO:

On the first day we went to Aqualand, which is the best waterpark I have been to so far. We were there from opening until closing time going on all the slides. However, my favourite was the lazy river which went around the whole park.

CLICK THE IMAGE TO VIEW VIDEO:

I went to my first Spanish nightclub with my cousin Sophie and her friends. I was actually nervous meeting her friends which is strange for me as I am normally a sociable person. I knew it would be a challenge as I spoke no Spanish (Yo no hablo español – see I have been practicing since), and they did not speak any English.

This was not the first time I had experienced the language barrier problem as it had happened on previous holidays before, but we always found a way to communicate.

As soon as I walked into their apartment for pre-drinks they made me feel at ease. We started trying to talk each other’s language, starting with the basics and then we just played some drinking games. The club we went to was called “mood”, they played “bacalao” music which is basically Spanish house music. We kept going to the beach to talk and get some fresh air, the clubs are so hot as the night is still 27 degrees. I learnt a bit of Spanish by listening to them.

There was one moment where no one was talking and I wanted to be involved. So I started playing the only Spanish song I know “DESPACITO” (remix with Luis Fonsi, Daddy Yankee and Justin Bieber- the song of the summer). So I have to thank Justin Bieber for that ice breaker. The night was full of laughter and fun, we stayed out all night I did not sleep until 7am. The funny thing was I ended up in more photos with Sophie’s friends than she did.

CLICK THE IMAGE TO VIEW VIDEO:

The next night I went to the moonlight cinema with my two younger cousins to watch Spiderman. This cinema was set under the stars with sofas, blankets and table service.

The next day we went to Playa de Ingles beach where we went swimming and body boarding. We went out for dinner to Addio Mare which do the best pizzas!!

My favourite bar of all time was Café Del Mar, they do the best cocktails with table service, colourful waterfalls, candle lit dinners and live shows every night. I was in heaven! There was even a grotto leading the way to the bar.

CLICK THE IMAGES TO VIEW VIDEO:



Amadores beach club was next on the list of places to visit. It was so relaxing, the pool was crystal clear with salt water, they had hot tubs, table service, TVs, sofa beds and a gorgeous view of the ocean.

CLICK THE IMAGE TO VIEW VIDEO:

If you are in Gran Canaria you have to go and visit the sand dunes. It was fun running around and rolling down the dunes, until I realised I had to walk back up the dunes to get home. It was a great workout.

CLICK THE IMAGES TO VIEW VIDEO:

I met up with my cousins friends again as we went for car rides around the island listening to Spanish music, singing along and visiting the viewpoints.

My final day was spent at Amadores beach with the family. We went on the inflatable paddle boat, swam in the sea and sunbathed for the whole day. The evening was spent at holiday world with my little cousins we went on most of the rides and played in the arcade. My worst experience was on the Bumper Cars my cousin Connie and I had so many bruises when we got off, everyone was racing into eachother, it was painful!

CLICK THE IMAGES TO VIEW VIDEO:

Overall, this holiday was one to remember! I now want to learn Spanish so the next time I visit I can talk to my cousins friends more. I had such a lovely time and I cannot wait for another adventure.

ADIOS AMIGOS!!

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page