top of page

NEW YORK - School Trip

NEW YORK, NEWWWW YORRRKKKK

What an experience, there is only one word for it AMAZING!

What school allows a school trip to NEW YORK?!?! Whenever I had a school trip it would only be to London or some place in the UK. Never in a million years did I believe that NEW YORK would be allowed as a school trip for the "educational purpose" of Business Studies.

I screamed with excitement when my parents told me I could go. I have always wanted to go to the USA and I couldn't believe it was happening so soon.

When we landed at JFK Airport we were all singing "Empire State of Mind" by Jay Z feat Alicia Keys. Everyone's head was pressed up against the window taking in the beautiful city. I couldn't believe how excited I was to see a yellow taxi and a yellow school bus (TOURIST ALERT).

Our hotel was located in Times Square it was called "The Manhattan Times Square Hotel". This was the perfect location as we could explore the city.

Our first tourist attraction to visit was the Empire State Building. As soon as I walked into the building I was picturing the scene from ELF (my favourite Christmas movie). I was trying really hard to resist pushing all the buttons in the lift. We went up to the 82nd floor, the view was BREATHTAKING! I may have cried a little bit, part of it being because of the jet lag and the other part of me being overwhelmed. I took many pictures and videos; however, the camera just does not do it any justice.


Afterwards it was time to try AMERICAN MCDONALDS. I was so excited because I know that the portions are VERY LARGE.


To our amusement the people of America just could not stop talking to us about our BRITISH accents. THEY LOVE THE BRITISH ACCENT! It made it very easy to make friends with people all I had to do was say "hello" and have them overhear a conversation before they would come to our table and ask questions about England.

On our first official day in NYC we walked around Manhattan admiring the architecture, landmarks, shops and restaurants. We explored the Statue of Liberty (which was a lot smaller than I expected), Ellis Island, Wall St, The 9/11 Memorial and Brooklyn Bridge. I felt like I was in a dream, the views were magnificent. My legs ached from all the walking but it was worth it.


The evening was spent in Times Square, we went shopping, explored the area, took many photos and even made some friends. We had dinner at Planet Hollywood which was really exciting as music videos were being played on the walls, there was a mini museum inside with all the outfits from movies such as The Hunger Games. All I can say is EVERYTHING IN NYC IS OVER THE TOP (which I LOVE).

The next day the only thing on the itinerary was SHOPPING!

YES, I KNOW, the schools timetable for this "educational" trip included A FULL DAY OF SHOPPING!

I was in paradise!

We started in Central Park, walking through the snow and taking many pictures. We came out on the other side by The Plaza Hotel (which is my dream wedding location) right opposite 5th Avenue. The best fashion street in the world. I ran up and down that street into Louis Vuitton, Prada, Saks, Valentino and of course TIFFANY & CO (I may have even had my Audrey Hepburn moment). After that we headed to the top department stores MACY'S and BLOOMINGDALES.

The last meal with the group was at the Hard Rock Cafe, there were guitars everywhere, loud music and good food.

I will never forget New York. A million memories were made with the best group of people. This was the school trip of a lifetime. I cannot wait to go back!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page